Sharpening the Emacs Saw

Emacs has been my primary/only editor for around 20 years, and I’ve become more aware of how little of its power I actually use. Emacs Rocks has been very inspirational in motivating me to further explore the functionality of Emacs. Lately I’ve been applying the DRY principle to Emacs itself, where if I find myself repeating a sequence of commands (including characters) in Emacs, I’ll write a macro or snippet (using YASnippet, which I highly recommend).

Integrating this approach with the Pomodoro and/or Getting Things Done principles, whenever I find myself repeating, er, myself, I’ll stop and add that sequence as appropriate, usually as a change to either my Emacs environment or my shell (Z shell) setup. It might be a bit of a distraction, diverting my attention for a minute or two, but the benefit is that I can begin using the new shortcut immediately. In fact, to enforce the new shortcut, if I accidentally use the equivalent long sequence, I’ll back up (such as deleting the just-typed characters) and use the new shortcut instead. This helps to erase the old muscle memory and enforce good, new habits.

YASnippet is especially valuable in automatically generating the boilerplate so much required by programming languages, especially Java. Even Ruby has its own overhead, and I recently heard (I’m about eight months behind) on a Ruby Rogues podcast that essentially if a Ruby programmer is actually typing “end”, then their environment is not adequately customized. I’d add that the same would apply to curly braces in Java and other C-derived languages.

A rule of thumb I’ve read is to add one script per day, and I’d advise the same for one’s editor, whether it be Emacs or any other powerful editor that can be customized, as virtually of them can be now. PragProg now has a new Vim book, Practical Vim. I don’t know of an equivalent book for Emacs, but it seems that there would be a market for it.

Leave a Reply

